The Brass Verdict by Michael Connelly

The Brass Verdict by Michael Connelly

It has been a couple of weeks since my last post. Dissertation writing with actual, real deadlines looming ensured that I concentrated on that instead of writing this.

I have recently read this book for Book Group; it was chosen by a member of the group who I would say doesn’t read this type of novel normally. This is one of the reasons for book group really, read things that you wouldn’t normally pick up and see what you think. I have read a Michael Connelly book before, ‘The Lincoln Lawyer’, which so happens to involve the same main character. Although I had largely forgotten this predecessor as it turned out ‘The Brass Verdict’ sits nicely as a standalone legal thriller. I am sure that if you had just read ‘The Lincoln Lawyer’ and some or most of the Harry Bosch novels (Michael Connelly’s main detective) then this would be even more enjoyable, but I was quite happy just sticking to this one.

The story picks up the main character, a defence lawyer that operates out of the back of his Lincoln car, after a yearlong spell away from his practice due to being in rehab. It transpires that previous events in his life (most likely covered in a previous novel) led to him becoming addicted to pain killers but now he is clean. He inherits a big murder case and the novel then pans out from there.

I did enjoy this book, and so did the majority of the book groupees. It was however slightly limited, it is in essence a ‘pop’ book. I have no issues with popular fiction, I am a huge fan and love nothing more than burying myself in the latest Mark Billingham or John Grisham; I wait patiently for the next Stephen King novel and re-read his novels continually. Yet, I also want some substance to a book and this didn’t quite grab me as much as some others. I’m not thinking that I must go out and find more Michael Connelly books; I cannot recommend this book with the same passion as I would other popular novelists. Saying that, I would still say it was enjoyable enough that if you do like a legal thriller than you should read this. See how you think it holds up against something like ‘A Time to Kill’ or ‘The Runaway Jury’.

One other thing, there are a couple of twists at the end of this book, however, I don’t think there was any chance that you could guess them. A twist at the end of the novel for me should become obvious once the reveal has been made. The reader should have a chance of cracking the book before the end. At the end you should be saying to yourself either ‘I knew I should have got that’ or ‘Ha! I knew it’. I may be wrong about this book, all the clues may have been there, my excuse for missing them if they were there – I was really, really tired for most of the time I was reading!

Well better crack on with the final reflective commentary, only 6,000 words to write before 26th July. Should be a doddle as long as I don’t get distracted!

Leave a Reply

